Photos – Vancouver Aquarium

A few days after my 30th birthday, I made my first ever visit to the Vancouver Aquarium (courtesy of my friend C). We had a great afternoon wandering through the exhibits and shooting with our cameras.

I found this particular shoot to be quite a challenge. My Pentax *istDS is now almost 5 years old and it’s beginning to show it’s age. Also, the camera’s performance in low-light situations has often been touch-and-go, at best. Without the use of a tripod – as was the case in this shoot – I often wing it and hope for the best. Whilst low light issues can be resolved by boosting the ISO, my pictures start developing major noise artifacts after ISO 400.

Given these limitations, I was quite surprised to get these results. Yes, I did tweak some of the shots in post-production. The topic of natural shot vs post-production is hotly debated amongst many photographers. I have my own opinions on the subject, but I’ll save them for a future blog post.

Thanks again to C for the Aquarium visit  (and showing me the dolphins!) 🙂

2 Responses to Photos – Vancouver Aquarium

  1. cindiaugustine says:

    You did a great job!! You have such a different eye from me that I wouldn’t have recognized these as great shots had I taken them. I can see them from your eye, and it’s really cool!!
    I just didn’t luck out with anything that day, but then, the camera was new, and I was still struggling to figure out the technicalities. I plan to go back and try again. The beauty of having a membership!

Leave a Reply

