Whither the (Kinky) Pixie?

I seem to be forming a tradition of making blog posts every few months. I really need to work on self-discipline.

So…

I made it down to Australia and back in one piece, arriving back in Vancouver around March 7th 2010. Highlights of the Australia trip included two cross country drives, catching up with some old friends, a reunion with my boyfriend and an unpleasant incident with a kangaroo in outback New South Wales. I’ll be posting some pics and a dedicated blog about the Australia trip soon.

“Boyfriend?”, I hear readers say. That would be my ex-partner from a couple of years ago. We were together for a while prior to my move to Canada, but parted ways shortly thereafter. We didn’t speak for a while, but got back in contact in 2008 and have talked regularly ever since. During my time in Australia…well, it’s pretty obvious. 🙂 At this point, it’s a case of seeing how things go. Long-distance relationships are difficult, at best, but one never knows, eh?

Since returning to Vancouver, my college studies have been my primary focus. The time and effort I’m putting in seems to be paying off. The Dreamweaver class finished last week and I submitted my final assignment last night. Fingers crossed that my self-imposed challenge of A+ marks across all Dreamweaver levels comes to fruition!

The other three classes are still in progress. Final Flash class is tonight – hoping I’m going to get a decent mark there. I’ve also been getting great marks for my photography assignments, but I won’t have the final verdicts until the end of April/early May. All the indicators are positive, though. 🙂

I’ll be taking a break from studying for a while once these four units are concluded. I’ve been at it non-stop since October last year and I need to absorb what I’ve learnt so far. The general plan for the summer is to pick up some work for a while before diving back into academia in August and September. I also need to spend more time with my camera.

A certain milestone was reached in early April: my 30th birthday. Bit of an odd time, I have to say. I had a small celebration dinner on the Saturday night, followed by my first trip to Grouse Mountain and a Canucks game on the Sunday. The following week, however…ugh, I shudder to think of it. Let’s just say “the deep dark hole” appeared and ate me for a few days. Thankfully, it’s now passed, I’m back to relative normality and feeling a lot better about things.

I also have a number of events to look forward to in the coming months. I have my friend K coming up from the States next week for a few days. It is my intention to send him back with a sore bottom, if possible. 😉 All going well, my boyfriend will be coming over for a couple of months later in the year. On top of that – Rush is touring! Woohoo!!

On another note, I’ve been reviewing my blog posts from the beginning. One thing has struck me – the lack of ‘twisted’ travels or ‘twisted’ anything to date. Plenty of ordinary travelling, yes, but not much on the kink side of things.

I can’t say I’m surprised. I’d effectively dropped out of the Vancouver community by the latter half of last year. Indeed, I’ve been to one kink event in the last six months and that was a Sin City event back in November 2009. Since then, nada.

My wager is that it’s the nature of life. Some kinky peeps are fortunate enough to be able to live the lifestyle on a regular basis. Others cycle in and out, depending on time, energy and circumstance. At this point, I’m one of the latter.

As much fun as it is to be tied up and beaten (or tying up and beating someone else! ;)) there are times where play winds up taking a back seat due to the demands of college, work and everyday life. It’s not to say a person has lost their kinky desires or is merely a dabbler. Far from it.  It’s just the way it is.

* * * *

Freeze this moment a little bit longer
Make each sensation a little bit stronger
Experience slips away…
Rush – “Time Stand Still”

Leave a Reply

